ACT Tall Poppies

SIX outstanding young researchers from the ACT were recognised with prestigious Young Tall Poppy Science Awards at a ceremony at the Australian Academy of Science in Canberra on September 3, 2019.

These winners showcase the high standard of world leading research being carried out in the Territory. From the role of Indigenous perspectives on drought and water management to engineering a crease-free form of cotton, these Tall Poppies of Science are working on projects that will benefit all Australians well into the future.

Tall Poppies from the Australian Capital Territory are experts from many fields and take part in a variety of outreach programs.

The Young Tall Poppy Science Awards are run by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS) to honour up-and-coming scientists who combine world-class research with a passionate commitment to communicating science.

Mr Bradley Moggdrige was named the 2019 ACT Tall Poppy of the Year on the night from among the six winners.

ACT Tall Poppy Winners


Mr Bradley Moggridge

Dr Lara Malins

Dr Madeline Mitchell

Dr Riccardo Natoli

Dr AJ Mitchell

Dr Amelia Gulliver


Dr Anne Bruestle

Dr Vini Gautam

Dr Bryan Lessard

Dr Erin Walsh

Dr Edward Simpson


Dr Kai Xun Chan

Dr Kai Xun Chan

Dr Julie Banfield

Dr Julie Banfield

Dr Niruthikha Mahendran

Dr Niruthikha Mahendran

Dr Dave Pasalich

Dr Dave Pasalich

Load more

ACT Supporters