CSL Florey Next Generation Award

The CSL Florey Next Generation Award is a new award conferred to a current PhD candidate who has demonstrated outstanding capability, creativity and potential in the biomedical sciences and/or health and medical research. This award was developed from the CSL Young Florey Medal.

It has been developed to encourage and support promising health and medical researchers early in their careers, and to complement the Florey Medal which is awarded biennially to an Australian biomedical researcher for significant achievements in biomedical science or human health advancement, and is supported by CSL Limited.

The CSL Florey Next Generation Award includes a $20,000 prize, and two runner-up prizes of $2,500 each, thanks to the generosity of CSL Limited.

The Award will be presented at the AAMRI 2020 Convention, 9-10 December 2020 (previously 25-26 November).  Note new date.

2020 applications are now closed and winners will be advised on late August 2020.


Applications – there is a maximum of two applications per research organisation, one of which must be from a female researcher.

Citizenship – the awards are open to anyone undertaking a PhD at an Australian institution and there is no restriction on citizenship.

Use of the funds – the funds go to the individual and there is no restriction on how they can be used by them.

Nomination requirements

A nomination should include:

1.      A completed nomination form, including:

  • Nominee’s details
  • Nominator’s details
  • A description of the nominee’s achievement(s) and the potential significance of their work that could be understood by the general public (maximum 400 words)

2.      The Nominee’s curriculum vitae

  • A CV of up to three (3) pages with reference to no more than five (5) publications by the nominee. This may be in Word or PDF format and should be submitted as an attachment. (Please note: additional pages will not be considered by the Selection Committee)

3.      Youtube link

  • Nominees must submit a 90 video of themselves talking about the potential significance of their research. This video should be uploaded to YouTube as a private video.

Nomination form can be found here.

Please submit your completed nominations to floreymedal@aips.net.au

Previous recipients of the CSL Florey Next Generation Award

2020 CSL Florey Next Generation Award – Nicholas Sinclair

Australian PhD candidate is developing next generation deep brain stimulation (DBS) devices to treat Parkinson’s disease. Nicholas Sinclair, a biomedical engineer working in neuroprosthetics and neurostimulation therapies, has been awarded the 2020 CSL Florey Next Generation Award for top PhD candidate in health and biomedical sciences. Parkinson’s disease is one... ...Read More

2018 – Inaugural Recipient – Dr Hamish Graham

Oxygen halves child pneumonia deaths A Melbourne student researcher and doctor has helped Nigerian hospitals halve the number of children dying from pneumonia—just by improving training and access to oxygen. Dr Hamish Graham has been awarded with the inaugural $20,000 CSL Florey Next Generation Award for top PhD candidate in... ...Read More