Our People

The Institute relies on its people to promote and implement its work. They include our voluntary board of directors, patron, ambassadors, Young Tall Poppy Science Award winners and our staff and volunteer team who all contribute valuable time and expertise in support of the Institute’s work.

Our people can be contacted via Our Offices

Private: Professor Rick McLean (Chair)

Chair Rick McLean MD FRACP is a senior consultant physician now based in regional Victoria. After completing training as a consultant physician in nuclear medicine in 1985 he worked in hospital and private practice until he commenced as Associate Dean of the School of Rural Health of the University of... ...Read More

Board of Directors

Our voluntary Board of Directors provides governance oversight and vision for the organisation. Leon Beswick (Co-Chair) Leon Beswick is Managing Director of Ogilvy PR Health in Sydney. He has over ten years experience in implementing successful health Read More Andrew Goodsall (Treasurer) Andrew Goodsall BA (Hons) Grad Dip (Asian studies)... ...Read More

Leon Beswick (Co-Chair)

Leon Beswick is Managing Director of Ogilvy PR Health in Sydney. He has over ten years experience in implementing successful health communication campaigns for major pharmaceutical and biotech companies, as well as professional associations and health technology organisations.  He has also worked as a policy adviser in the office of the... ...Read More


The Institute has a small team of dedicated professional staff assisted by volunteers who run our programs around Australia.  ...Read More

Private: AQ Editor & Editorial Committee

Editorial Committee Professor Greg Craven Professor Julian Disney James Morris Professor Duncan Waterson Dr Barry Jones ...Read More

Andrew Goodsall (Treasurer)

Andrew Goodsall BA (Hons) Grad Dip (Asian studies) MBA is the Head of Healthcare Research with UBS Australia. Andrew's team has rated the number one healthcare equities research team in each of the major surveys since 2003. Andrew commenced as an analyst in 1999 after an extensive government and health background in which he was senior... ...Read More

Professor Maria Kavallaris (Co-Chair)

Maria Kavallaris BAppSc PhD is a nationally and internationally recognised cancer researcher. She is Head of the Tumour Biology and Targeting Program at the Children’s Cancer Institute, and is a Director of the Australian Centre for NanoMedicine, UNSW Australia. Her achievements have been recognised by numerous fellowships, international and national awards... ...Read More

Professor Jennelle Kyd

Jennelle Kyd is Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost at Swinburne University of Technology responsible for leading Higher and Vocational Education.  Jennelle was a former Tall Poppy and QLD Tall Poppy Campaign Ambassador. Jennelle has research interests in middle ear and respiratory infections. She is an inventor of commercially valuable intellectual property of vaccine... ...Read More

Professor Suresh Mahalingam

Suresh Mahalingam BSc (Hons), PhD is a leading Australian virologist and international leader in viral inflammatory disease. His basic research has led to several major advances in our understanding of viral inflammatory disease and he has been active in translating these achievements. As a result of high-level research success, he... ...Read More

Peter McMahon

Peter McMahon BA has started his own consultancy business called Bossy Group. Prior to this he was with Hewlett Packard, involved in sales in the field of e-Health. He was previously a sales manager with Telstra Enterprise and Government, managing a customer base comprising mainly of federal government departments and... ...Read More

Professor Peter Rathjen

Peter Rathjen B.Sc. (Hons) (Adel) D.Phil. (Oxon) is the Vice Chancellor of the Unviersity of Tasmania, having served as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at the University of Melbourne till February 2011. Prior to this position he was Dean of the Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne from 2006 - 2008.... ...Read More